Free vs Paid Antivirus Software

Discussion in 'Security' started by calebmelvern, Sep 24, 2013.

1. calebmelvern

calebmelvern New Member

There are a lot of free antivirus software with features that are almost comparable to their paid counterparts. Personally, I haven't shelled out any money for a paid antivirus software. I'm very cautious when I surf the net, and I think my free software does the job for me. But I'm not saying that paying for an antivirus software is stupid.

Have you tried any paid antivirus software? Or are you like me who only uses a free software?

2. draalin

draalin The Boss Staff Member

Only one I ever paid for before was Nod32. After my subscription ran out I switched over to Microsoft's MSE and have used it ever since. (4-5 years)

3. calebmelvern

calebmelvern New Member

I heard a lot of good things about Nod32 but I haven't tried it personally. I've been using Avast for about three years now and so far, I'm very satisfied with it. I also tried MSE and what I liked most about it was how easy it was on resources. The minimalist interface is also very nice.

4. ENO1986

ENO1986 Member

Well I use AVG the free version and it works just fine I don't know how the other free ones compare, but to me their is no reason to buy an antivirus unless you want some of the extra features or something.

Corzhens likes this.
  5. OhioTom76

OhioTom76 Member

I haven't seen any features in the paid versions of anti-virus software that would compel me to want to pay for them. As long as they scan for viruses on my system in real time, that is all I need. All these other extra features they tack on are redundant and useless, and in a majority of the cases they slow your system down just as much if not more than the actual malware does. AVG literally hijacks your browser home page just like malware does, for example.

6. mikelouis

mikelouis Member