I'm a Windows 7 user, why should I upgrade to Windows 8?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by BCH, Aug 28, 2013.

1. BCH

BCH New Member

I've been using Windows 7 for over four years now and I'm well accustomed to and very happy with it. It took a lot of convincing for me to give up XP after having used it for many, many years but ultimately I was glad I made the decision to move to 7.

When 8 was released there wasn't enough in it to convince me I should upgrade. I've still never tried it and I'm not really interested to, but if I get enough of a convincing account then I may consider it.

2. draalin

draalin The Boss Staff Member

I would, you can make it pretty much like Windows 7 by just downloading a start menu from Google.

I haven't used metro at all since transitioning over. If I couldn't have a start menu though I wouldn't be using it.

Plus it comes with some better built in security as well as it seems to boot faster! (y)

3. lindbergh

lindbergh Love's Android!

Whoa, I never thought that I could download a start menu. Nice. I'll check this out later. I was kind of freaked out when I couldn't find a start menu anywhere. I was like - how do I shut this thing down???

Well, I figured it out eventually and so far so good with Windows 8.

4. Jaxter

Jaxter New Member

I would love to know as well since I've heard from many people that it was best to stick with Windows 7 until all the kinks work itself out on Windows 8. Of course this was what I heard when Windows 8 just launched so early adopter problems were certain to arise. But since a lot of time has past, are all the quirks worked out now?

My desktop PC still runs Windows 7 but I'm the type of person who loves to get the newest and greatest thing that is out there so upgrading to a newer version is certainly appealing to me.

5. ENO1986

ENO1986 Member