What's a good distro for someone just starting out with Linux?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by BCH, Aug 27, 2013.

1. BCH

BCH New Member

I've never tried Linux before but I have been intrigued for some time now and I'd like to know what is a good place to start for someone who's exclusively used Windows OSs for the past 20 years. I know Ubuntu is the most common and popular Linux distro and I have heard that it is very user-friendly, but I also know that there are other popular distros and probably some lesser known distros that are worth trying out.

2. danealegana

danealegana Member

You could try YLMF OS. It was designed to look like windows XP. It was created by some chinese guys a few years back and its quite impressive.

Update: They have stopped YLMF OS and instead created a new one called StartOS.

Last edited: Sep 14, 2013
  3. Sly14Cat

Sly14Cat Member

For someone who's new to Linux I'd recommend Xubuntu to ease the transition. It does come with an applications menu very similar to Windows XP or Windows 7. If you do a few minutes of tweaking you can make it look much like Windows.